Assignment 2: ‘Elements of Design’ Amended

The main points raised by my tutor were:

  • Single Point: The grape photo works and the eye is drawn to the grape but I do wonder if you would not have been left with a cleaner photo that responded more directly to the theme if you had removed the grape from the stalk. I reviewed the contact sheets and didn’t see this option. As the rest of the photos are all presented in a cleaner, more commercial manner, the grape picture would have fitted into the series more without the stalk.

Single point revised:

I agree with my tutors comments and decided to go for a cleaner shot, removing the stalk. I think it works much better as there is zero confusion and one single point, as required.

Grape A.2 final

  •  Two Point: I agree that this is a successful picture and would fit a lifestyle magazine/website well. I wasn’t totally convinced by it representing ‘two points’ though –the bowl and contents is one point –perhaps a drink or napkin/cutlery to the side would have given you a second point?

I decided to steer away from the bowl of pasta shot (due to deadlines and a broken studio light) and try to incorporate and object that can deliberately be made into two points.. It follows on from the food theme, and also from the red grape. I like the reflection of the cork. I also wanted to see if you could have a two point picture with 2 very different sized objects. I think this has been successful.

Two points revised:

2 points low res

  • Several Points in a deliberate shape: I had a couple of issues with this image. The first was procedural –you have included two slightly different variants in the submission but just one in the assignment overview. When it comes to assessment you will want to present just one. The more pressing issue is the depth of focus isn’t really working –having the blurred piece of sushi in the front is distracting to the viewer –the eye is taken straight to this one and you end up hunting through the image to find what is in focus. Perhaps if the front piece was the one in focus and the others soft it would be more successful? Compare this to the walnut photo where you have the dominant front half of the walnut in focus and you can see where that image is a success compared to the sushi image.

Several points in a deliberate shape revised:

I’ve taking my tutors comments on board and re-shot the sushi image – with the 3 prominent sushi rolls (in the deliberate shape) in full focus, with a softer focus on all surrounding sushi rolls. I feel this has produced a much stronger image.

Sushi 1 low res

  • Pattern: You have some camera shake here –you can see when you blow the photo up that the scales are a bit soft because the lens has moved slightly. This is easy to avoid, just make sure you are using a shutter speed fast enough to eliminate the issue if working handheld (as a rule of thumb, at least 1/the focal length of the lens, so 1/60th for a 50mm lens, 1/250th for a 200mm lens etc)

Pattern revisited:

This was generally a hard shot to get right as I was using a macro add on ring (good budget buy) but it’s results can be blurred. I re-visited the shot, this time with a tripod to eliminate any shake. I think the front on positioning makes a cleaner and more pleasing composition.

pattern 2

Leave a Reply

