Assignment 4: ‘Lighting Techniques’ Amended

The key issues raised by my tutor were:

  • There were a couple of colour balance issues but nothing too bad. I would revisit the images for colour and texture before printing to make sure your colour balance is correct. At the moment the first colour image has a blue/magenta cast, the second a yellow cast, the first texture image a yellow/green/cyan cast and the last texture image looks a little dark.

I have gone back over my prints and corrected these issues and am much happier with the results.

Colour:

colour black

colour white

 

In both shots, regardless of the colour of backdrop the alterations have made the many different shades of wood much more apparent.

Texture:

texture white

Again this was more of a colour issue, and the alterations have greatly improved the shot.

My camera was producing some very unusual shutter speeds, and this was not in fact a result of my conversions. I have however, revised all speeds to a more understandable display as rightfully suggested by my tutor. (At the time of shooting I was very confused by the readings I was seeing on the LCD screen.) The amendments are:

Colour:

White – 0.1 seconds

Black – 0.6 seconds

Form:

White – 2.5 seconds

Black – 3 seconds

Shape:

White – 0.6 seconds

Black – 0.6 seconds

Texture:

White – 0.4 seconds

Black – 0.6 seconds

Leave a Reply

