Research: HDR to B&W…

I previously voiced my opinion on HDR (high dynamic range) photography on here, stating that done subtly I like it, but done too much and it can start to look too contrasty and cartoon-like. (Click here for the post)

I wondered, however, how HDR shots would look when converted into black-and-white. I was especially intrigued to see the effects of the sky and clouds. The expansive range must add a significant amount of depth and tone.

As i’m not a huge fan of HDR I don’t have many images in my archive (this is something I will experiment with though) so here’s several examples that popped up on Google search.

209bd67656190fa0cdd4fe3ac3475c09

lake-hdr-gld

martin_stavars-nightscapes-tokyo12

maxresdefault

I think black and white HDR, even when done to a moderately high extent, is actually a great creative tool in adding layers and tones to black-and-white photography. There were a few examples that appeared a little ‘over done’ and had that unrealistic feel to it, but on the whole I quite like it.

An HDR black-and-white image that really caught my eye while researching comes from photographer John Hobson: (http://johnhobsonphotography.com/category/hdr/)

20070219-CoaleyTreeHDR

I love the dramatic, ominous mood he’s created using HDR, especially how it’s effected the sky. This is definitely a tool I’ll be keeping in mind for black-and-white photography, and I may even attempt to include a bracketed shot in my upcoming assignment.

 

Leave a Reply

