Exercise: Enhancement (DPP)

For this exercise I need to focus predominantly on the face and eye areas as my subject for manipulation.

I decided to use a stock image for this exercise as it was quicker. I used the below image, courtesy of Kamere.com – the subject has freckles and blue eyes – I felt that the freckles would add an interesting perspective when strongly edited.

Here’s the original image:

vesn_nach

The first step was to select the area I wanted to edit first using the quick mask tool . I wanted to leave the models eyes and lips, and focus on her skin.

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-11-26-26

Once I had the area selected I increased the brightness, making it seem as though she was photographed in sunlight:

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-11-27-07

I then increased the contrast to really draw out her freckles.

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-11-28-01

After returning to the original image I then focused on the eyes. Here i’ve used to the sharpen tool to really increase the colours and detail of her iris.

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-11-28-46

After increasing the sharpness i’ve now whitened the whites of her eyes, and used the burn tool to really enhance her eyes. This technique is readily obvious in magazines and advertising, but personally this is on the verge of being too much.

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-11-30-59

And finally i’ve had a play with her skin tone and eye colour, to produce several image that have been heavily enhanced. It begs the question – ‘is this level of editing acceptable?’ In my opinion it is too much. But as mentioned earlier images like this are extremely common. I suppose it hangs in the viewers opinion.

Blue eyes:

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-12-40-40

Green eyes:

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-12-40-13

Brown eyes:

screen-shot-2016-09-07-at-12-39-37

 

 

Leave a Reply

