Exercise: Positioning a point (TAoP)

There are essentially three classes of position for placing a point in the frame: in the middle, a little off-centre and close to the edge. Take three photographs where there is a single point placed in a different part of the frame.

This exercise reminded me of one in the introductory phase – ‘fitting frame to subject’ the theory behind both exercises is very similar.
‘The Photographer’s Eye’ (2007), Freeman describes a point as being the most fundamental element of design in a photograph. A point has to be small in the frame and must contrast with its surroundings in some way in order to be significant.

I’ve spent quite a while looking over my archived photos and have noticed that I vary rarely place a point directly in the centre. I think this gives it a clinical, static feel to it. The majority of my shots tend to be close to the edge as I personally feel this is more effective. This can also be done using cropping.

It is mentioned that for ‘Elements Of Design’ the pictures can be in black and white – something i’m very happy about!

I haven’t done any editing for these pics as I don’t think that it is necessary.

The first shot is with the point in the middle.
DSC_0532

The second is slightly off centre (to the left)
DSC_0534

The next is off centre to the right
DSC_0533

And finally, at the edge of the image
DSC_0535

My preferred image is the last – i think the positioning makes a rather boring picture just a little bit more interesting.
I used a wide aperture which I think emphasizes the’point’ as pretty much anything that is not intended to be in focus isn’t – making the viewers eye go directly to the subject in focus (wherever it may be in regards to framing)

I will re do this exercise using a larger f number to see whether there is a difference once the whole frame is in sharp focus.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.